6. The World Through Her Eyes

by Chelsea Donahue

I wanted to do a little questionnaire with Madison for when she turned five, which of course I didn’t do until tonight when she was getting ready for bed. This is the interview.

Okay Madison, are you ready for your interview? Yes.

How old are you today? Five.

How does it feel to be five? Beautiful.

How was your day? Like, awesome.

How was the weather? Like, um, cold.

What do you think of school? School is fun.

What’s the most important thing you’ve learned in life so far? My sight words.

What is your favorite sight word? See. Can you write see? S-E-E.

Thanks. What else do you like to learn about? Animals on farms.

How do you think you’re different from last year? Well, I’m five. This is when she rolled her eyes at me.

What’s your favorite thing about yourself? That I have Moe. Moe is her stuffed puppy.

Who is your best friend? Moe.

Whose your best real friend? Andie and Nicole.

Tell me about our family. Well, my dad likes to play Wii with me. And my mom likes flowers.

What about our pets? I have Penny, Surfy and Backson. Cat, turtle, dog.

What is something really big we did this past year? We went to Disney.

What’s your favorite music? I don’t have a radio, but I like the Twelve Dogs of Christmas.

Favorite book? That learning book.

Favorite movie? Scooby-Doo.

What about your favorite TV show? Scooby-Doo.

If you could have one day to do anything with Daddy, what would you do? Play Wii.

What about a day to do anything with me? Go to the store.

What do you want to be when you grow up? A car seller. I’ll get paid.

How much will you get paid? Um, twenty dollars. Wait! One hundred dollars.

How much do you think Daddy gets paid? Twenty one dollars. Or one thousand dollars.

Do you think you’ll ever get married? Yes.

How old will you be when you get married? Twenty one. Because you were.

I was eighteen when I got married. Really? Then she proceeded to stare at me blankly for a few seconds.

What’s one thing you know about boys? They get married.

What’s your favorite food? Cheez-It’s. Are we done?

No. What’s your favorite candy? Lollipops.

Are you scared of anything? Yes. Vampires.

Anything else you’d like to say? Yes.

What? That I like flags, and I love horses. They are beautiful.

Is there anything I didn’t ask you? You didn’t ask me what day it is.

Okay, what day is it? The twelfth.

No, Maddy, it’s the eighteenth. Really?

Yes. Thanks for the interview. You’re welcome. Are we done?

Yes. Great, can you help me find the Twelve Dogs of Christmas?

And that was my kid, ladies & gentlemen.


