15. Facebook Detox

by Chelsea Donahue

I jumped on the Facebook bandwagon way back in 2007. Before that I had MySpace. I’ve been a part of a social network since high school. First it was checking on my laptop after school, then every couple hours… and eventually throughout the day on my cell phone. Now I’m checking my Facebook as soon as I wake up, before I even get out of bed. It’s really bad. Facebook is everywhere. Almost every advertisement asks you to like their product or business on Facebook, I get at least ten game requests a day. I honestly think I know only one person who doesn’t have a Facebook.

Lately, it’s been more bad than good. Not like I’ve ever been completely mentally stable, and Facebook doesn’t help. It has gotten to the point where I feel like if I post anything, someone is going to be upset with me or take it the wrong way. Facebook is supposed to be a communication tool, used to keep up with friends and family. I haven’t used it as that in I don’t know how long!

And so, I’ve been thinking about it. I love staying connected with my friends, especially since now we’re over 1,000 miles away from Maine. But I also know that more often than not, I’m in a perpetual bad mood and the cause could easily be placed on my news feed. I’ve decided to take on a Facebook detox. I deactivated my Facebook on Easter. Why deactivate & not just log off? I don’t know, a personal decision. I also took the application off my iPhone. Yesterday I was in a great mood – I didn’t even want to see what everyone else was doing. Today I took the dog for a mile walk, and observed nature instead of staring at my phone the entire time. I’m excited to see where the rest of the week takes me.

Sunday I’m hoping of going back to Facebook with a different outlook. I’m going to purge my friends list and make sure it’s just friends. And I think the app will stay off my phone. But I’m getting ahead of myself here. I’ve googled “Facebook detox” and as it turns out I’m not the only one feeling the Facebook effect.

Have you ever Facebook detoxed, or given up Facebook completely?

